The 3 Levels of CMMC 2.0: The Right Level for MSPs Client


Understanding the three levels of CMMCs, especially in 2.0, can be daunting when recommending the right one for your clients. As MSPs, it’s always an excellent idea to have a more profound knowledge of what level to choose. That said, let’s get started, shall we?

What is the difference between CMMC 2.0 and 1.0?

One of the most notable differences between CMMC 2.0 and 1.0 is that it trims the number from five to three. Additionally, 2.0 allows POAMs (Plans of Action and Milestones). The new level 2 in CMMC 2.0 certification indicates that your clients can securely store and share CUI. However, the POAMs in CMMC 2.0 is a bit limited.

The 3 Levels of CMMC 2.0

The CMMC 2.0 cuts down on the old transitional levels and bases the new levels on the type of information DIB companies can handle. You need to pay attention to these levels to recommend the right one to your clients better.

·      Level 1 (Foundations)

Level one is more or less foundation based. It’s relevant to companies that solely focus on FCI protection. Ideally, it’s comparable to the previous level 1 and is based on Basic Safeguarding of Covered Contractor Information. Typically, these controls are designed to protect covered information systems while restricting access to particular individuals.

·      Level 2 (Advanced)

This level is more relevant to businesses with CUI. Level 2 is comparable to the previous level 3. This level mirrors NIST SP 800-171 while also eliminating all practices and maturity processes considered unique to CMMC 1.0. Level 2 aligns directly with NIST to protect CUI.

·      Level 3 (Expert)

Level 3 focuses on mitigating the risks from APTs (Advanced Persistent Threats.) This level is designed for companies directly working with CUI on the highest priority programs. Level 3 is comparable to the previous level 5.

Choosing the specific level for your clients

CMMC 2.0 results in streamlining requirements compared to 1.0 with increased oversight of the third-party assessment ecosystem. More importantly, CMMC 2.0 allows new level 1 to perform self-assessments instead of undergoing third-party assessments.

That said, when checking for the right level of compliance for your clients, you should consider the following factor:

  • Size of the organization
  • The level of the already existing CMMC 2.0
  • The technology existing in the client’s company
  • More importantly, the cost breakdown.


In Summary: Picking the right CMMC 2.0

The CMMC 2.0 standards will better arm your client’s defense against attackers threatening the company. Even though CMMC 2.0 can be a bit challenging, it guides security best practices helping clients to improve their overall security posture.

Are you still having trouble putting the CMMC 2.0 together for your clients? Well, worry no more. Kamanja has the best automation system for MSPs that could help you complete your client’s projects within minutes. And the best part is that it’s cost-effective. So, set a demo today and let’s help you provide top-tier services to your clients.

More to explore